Kids Library Home

Welcome to the Kids' Library!

Search for books, movies, music, magazines, and more.

Available items only
Printed Score
Author Aichinger, Gregor, 1564-1628, composer.

Uniform Title Lacrumae divae virginis et Joannis in Christum a cruce depositum
Title Lacrumae divae virginis et Joannis in Christum a cruce depositum : (1604) / Gregor Aichinger ; edited by Alexander J. Fisher.

Publication Info. Middleton, Wisconsin : A-R Editions, [2020]


Location Call No. OPAC Message Status
 Axe 2nd Floor Stacks  780.82 R243  v.211    ---  Available
1 copy being processed for Axe Acquisitions Order.
Description 1 score (xviii, 63 pages, 5 pages of plates) : facsimiles ; 31 cm.
notated music ntm rdacontent
unmediated n rdamedia
volume nc rdacarrier
score rdafnm
solo vocal ensemble 1 1 lcmpt
Men Bavarians lcdgt
Series Recent researches in the music of the Baroque Era ; 211
Recent researches in the music of the Baroque Era ; v. 211.
Note Cycle of motets for 5 or (no. 8) 6 voices unaccompanied.
Language Latin words, also printed as text with English translation.
Note Introduction and critical report in English.
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references.
Language Staff notation.
Contents Lugubre quam vocat ministerium -- Mater (ita enim pietas) -- O dulce pignus -- Magna quereris -- Patiens Joannes est Deus -- Fili, mihi quem lacrumae -- O, sive dominam -- Ludibria exin quanta te.
Summary "The Lacrumae Divae Virginis et Joannis in Christum a cruce depositum (Tears of the Blessed Virgin and John at the Deposition of Christ from the Cross) is a cycle of eight motets composed by Gregor Aichinger (1564-1628) and published at Augsburg in 1604. Setting the Latin poetry of the Augsburg patrician and humanist Marcus Welser, Aichinger composed these dialogues between Mary and John the Evangelist in the expressive language of the late Renaissance motet for an ensemble of five and six voices. The cycle is remarkable for its connection to a bronze sculptural group depicting Mary, John, and Mary Magdalene at the foot of the cross, executed by Hans Reichle and erected in the Benedictine basilica of SS. Ulrich and Afra--where Aichinger served as organist--in 1605, creating an aural-visual complex that encouraged viewers and listeners to meditate on the mysteries of the Crucifixion." -- Provided by publisher.
Subject Motets.
Genre/Form Motets (OCoLC)fst01726673
Added Author Welser, Marcus, 1558-1614, author.
Fisher, Alexander J., editor.
Musical setting of (work): Welser, Marcus, 1558-1614. Poems. Selections.
Fugger, Georg, 1577-1643, dedicatee.
ISBN 9781987205497 paperback
1987205499 paperback
9781987205503 electronic book
Standard No. 10.31022/B211 doi
Music No. B211 A-R Editions, Inc.

Available items only