Kids Library Home

Welcome to the Kids' Library!

Search for books, movies, music, magazines, and more.

Available items only

Title Broken rainbow [videorecording] / Earthworks Films ; produced, written and edited by Maria Florio and Victoria Mudd ; directed by Maria Florio and Victoria Mudd.

Imprint [New York] : Docurama : Distributed by New Video Group, [2006]


Location Call No. OPAC Message Status
 Axe DVDs 2nd Floor  970.00497 B782 2006    ---  Available
Description 1 videodisc (70 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in.
System Details DVD, region 1; Dolby digital stereo., NTSC.
Credits Narrator, Martin Sheen ; cinematography, Michael Anderson, Fred Elmes, Joan Weidman, Tony St. John, Baird Bryant, Victoria Mudd ; musical score, Paul Apodaco, Fred Myrow, Rick Krizman.
Note Originally produced in 1985.
Summary Heartbreaking tale of the forced relocation of 12,000 Navajos from their ancestral homeland in Arizona that began in the 1970's and continues to this day. Witness as they take their protest to Congress and turn tragedy into acts of heroic resistance.
Note Special features: Update 2006, documentary: "2006: the struggle continues" (21 min.); Filmmaker biographies.
Awards Academy Awards, USA, 1986: Oscar - Best Documentary, Features (Maria Florio, Victoria Mudd).
Subject Navajo Indians -- Relocation.
Navajo Indians -- Land tenure.
Hopi Indians -- Land tenure.
Navajo Indians -- Government relations.
Hopi Indians -- Government relations.
Genre/Form Documentary films.
Added Author Mudd, Victoria.
Florio, Maria.
Sheen, Martin.
Apodaco, Paul.
Myrow, Fredric, 1939-
Krizman, Rick.
Earthworks (Firm)
Docurama (Firm)
New Video Group.
ISBN 0767087763
Standard No. 767685976432
Music No. NVG-9764 New Video Group

Available items only