Kids Library Home

Welcome to the Kids' Library!

Search for books, movies, music, magazines, and more.

     
Available items only
Print Material
Author Page, Libby, author.

Title The lido : a novel / Libby Page.

Publication Info. New York : Simon & Schuster, 2018.

Copies

Location Call No. OPAC Message Status
 Parsons Fiction  F Page, L.    ---  Available
 Pittsburg 2nd Fl Fiction  F Page    ---  Available
Edition First Simon & Schuster hardcover edition.
Description 310 pages ; 22 cm.
text txt rdacontent
unmediated n rdamedia
volume nc rdacarrier
Summary "A tender, joyous debut novel about a cub reporter and her eighty-six-year-old subject--and the unlikely and life-changing friendship that develops between them. Kate is a twenty-six-year-old riddled with anxiety and panic attacks who works for a local paper in Brixton, London, covering forgettably small stories. When she's assigned to write about the closing of the local lido (an outdoor pool and recreation center), she meets Rosemary, an eighty-six-year-old widow who has swum at the lido daily since it opened its doors when she was a child. It was here Rosemary fell in love with her husband, George; here that she's found communion during her marriage and since George's death. The lido has been a cornerstone in nearly every part of Rosemary's life. But when a local developer attempts to buy the lido for a posh new apartment complex, Rosemary's fond memories and sense of community are under threat. As Kate dives deeper into the lido's history--with the help of a charming photographer--she pieces together a portrait of the pool, and a portrait of a singular woman, Rosemary. What begins as a simple local interest story for Kate soon blossoms into a beautiful friendship that provides sustenance to both women as they galvanize the community to fight the lido's closure. Meanwhile, Rosemary slowly, finally, begins to open up to Kate, transforming them both in ways they never knew possible. In the tradition of Frederick Backman, The Lido is a charming, feel-good novel that captures the heart and spirit of a community across generations--an irresistible tale of love, loss, aging, and friendship"-- Provided by publisher.
Source B&T 08.2018 PARS
Subject Reporters and reporting -- Fiction.
Female friendship -- Fiction.
Older women -- Fiction.
FICTION / Contemporary Women.
FICTION / Literary.
FICTION / General.
ISBN 9781501182037
150118203X

 
    
Available items only