Kids Library Home

Welcome to the Kids' Library!

Search for books, movies, music, magazines, and more.

Available items only
Print Material
Author Mendelson, Edward.

Title The things that matter : what seven classic novels have to say about the stages of life / Edward Mendelson.

Imprint New York : Pantheon Books, ©2006.


Location Call No. OPAC Message Status
 Axe Special Collections Whitehead  823.809354 M522t 2006    ---  Lib Use Only
Edition 1st ed.
Description xviii, 260 pages ; 22 cm
text txt rdacontent
unmediated n rdamedia
volume nc rdacarrier
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references (pages 243-247) and index.
Contents Introduction -- Birth : Frankenstein -- Childhood : Wuthering Heights -- Growth : Jane Eyre -- Marriage : Middlemarch -- Love : Mrs. Dalloway -- Parenthood : To the lighthouse -- The future : Between the acts -- Notes on the novelists -- Further reading.
Summary This book is an illuminating exploration of how seven of the greatest English novels of the 19th and 20th centuries -- Frankenstein, Wuthering Heights, Jane Eyre, Middlemarch, Mrs. Dalloway, To the Lighthouse, and Between the Acts -- portray the essential experiences of life. For Edward Mendelson, a professor of English and comparative literature at Columbia University, these classic novels tell life stories that are valuable to readers who are thinking about the course of their own lives. Looking beyond theories to the individual intentions of the authors and taking into consideration their lives and times, Mendelson examines the sometimes contradictory ways in which the novels portray such major passages of life as love, marriage, and parenthood. In Frankenstein's story of a new life, we see a searing representation of emotional neglect. In Wuthering Heights and Jane Eyre the transition from childhood to adulthood is portrayed in vastly different ways even though the sisters who wrote the books shared the same isolated life. In Mrs. Dalloway we see an ideal and almost impossible adult love. Mendelson leads us to a fresh and fascinating new understanding of each of the seven novels, reminding us in the most captivating way why they matter. - Jacket flap.
Subject Shelley, Mary Wollstonecraft, 1797-1851.
Shelley, Mary Wollstonecraft, 1797-1851. Frankenstein.
Brontė, Charlotte, 1816-1855.
Bronte, Charlotte, 1816-1855. Jane Eyre.
Brontė, Emily, 1818-1848.
Bronte, Emily. Wuthering Heights.
Eliot, George, 1819-1880.
Eliot, George, 1819-1880. Middlemarch.
Woolf, Virginia, 1882-1941.
Woolf, Virginia, 1882-1941. Between the acts.
Woolf, Virginia, 1882-1941. Mrs. Dalloway.
Woolf, Virginia, 1882-1941. To the lighthouse.
Life cycle, Human, in literature.
English fiction -- 19th century -- History and criticism.
English fiction -- 20th century -- History and criticism.
English fiction. (OCoLC)fst00910817
Life cycle, Human, in literature. (OCoLC)fst00998264
Chronological Term 1800-1999
Genre/Form Criticism, interpretation, etc. (OCoLC)fst01411635
ISBN 0375424083
Standard No. 9780375424083

Available items only