Kids Library Home

Welcome to the Kids' Library!

Search for books, movies, music, magazines, and more.

Available items only
Print Material
Author Moynahan, Brian, 1941- author.

Title Leningrad : siege and symphony / Brian Moynahan.

Publication Info. New York, NY : Atlantic Monthly Press, [2013]


Location Call No. OPAC Message Status
 Axe Special Collections Whitehead  940.5421721 M876l 2013    ---  Lib Use Only
Description xii, 542 pages, 16 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations, maps ; 24 cm
text txt rdacontent
unmediated n rdamedia
volume nc rdacarrier
Bibliography Includes bibliographical references (pages 494-520) and index.
Contents Ouvertyura = Overture -- Repressii = Terror -- Voyna = War -- Do serediny sentyabr' = To mid-September 1941 -- Do serediny oktyabr' = To mid-October 1941 -- Oktyabr' = October 1941 -- Noyabr' = November 1941 -- Dekabr' = December 1941 -- Noviy god = New Year -- Yanvar' = January 1942 -- Fevral' = February 1942 -- Mart = March 1942 -- Aprel'-Maj = April-May 1942 -- Iyun' = June 1942 -- Iyul' = July 1942 -- Simfonya Nr. 7 = Symphony no. 7 -- Do svidaniya = Farewell.
Summary Shostakovich's Seventh Symphony was first played in the city of its birth on 9 August, 1942. There has never been a first performance to match it. Pray God, there never will be again. Almost a year earlier, the Germans had begun their blockade of the city. Already many thousands had died of their wounds, the cold, and most of all, starvation. The assembled musicians--scrounged from frontline units and military bands, for only twenty of the orchestra's 100 players had survived--were so hungry, many feared they'd be too weak to play the score right through. In these, the darkest days of the Second World War, the music and the defiance it inspired provided a rare beacon of light for the watching world. In Leningrad: Siege and Symphony, Brian Moynahan sets the composition of Shostakovich's most famous work against the tragic canvas of the siege itself and the years of repression and terror that preceded it. In vivid and compelling detail he tells the story of the cruelties heaped by the twin monsters of the twentieth century on a city of exquisite beauty and fine minds, and of its no less remarkable survival. Weaving Shostakovich's own story and that of many others into the context of the maelstrom of Stalin's purges and the brutal Nazi invasion of Russia, Leningrad: Siege and Symphony is a magisterial and moving account of one of the most tragic periods in history.
Subject Shostakovich, Dmitri Dmitrievich, 1906-1975. Symphonies, no. 7, op. 60, C major.
Symphonies (Shostakovich, Dmitri Dmitrievich) (OCoLC)fst01358333
Symphonies -- Soviet Union -- History.
Music and war -- Soviet Union -- History.
Music and state -- Soviet Union.
Music -- Political aspects -- Soviet Union.
Saint Petersburg (Russia) -- History -- Siege, 1941-1944.
Saint Petersburg (Russia) -- Social conditions -- 20th century.
Music and state. (OCoLC)fst01030489
Music and war. (OCoLC)fst01030492
Music -- Political aspects. (OCoLC)fst01030414
Social conditions (OCoLC)fst01919811
Symphonies. (OCoLC)fst01140873
Russia (Federation) -- Saint Petersburg. (OCoLC)fst01212867
Soviet Union. (OCoLC)fst01210281
Sankt Petersburg -- Belagerung (DE-588)4193689-9
Sinfonie (DE-588)4055087-4
Siege of Saint Petersburg (Saint Petersburg, Russia (Federation) : 1941-1944) (OCoLC)fst01354921
Chronological Term 1900-1999
Genre/Form History. (OCoLC)fst01411628
ISBN 0802123163
0802191908 (ebook)
9780802191908 (ebook)
Standard No. 99960246151

Available items only